Scholarship Program

Scholarship Program

Members or children of members of local unions or children whose legal guardians are members of local unions that are affiliated with the 韦德1946 and the local Central Labor Council. Applicants must be high school seniors who are planning to attend a university, college or technical institute in the summer or fall term. Scholarships are one-time grants of $1,500.

Application forms are available for download HERE, from your Central Labor Council, or from the 韦德1946 Education Department - P. O. Box 12727, Austin, Texas 78711. THE POSTMARK DEADLINE FOR APPLYING IS MONDAY, JANUARY 31, 2022.

TO INSURE PROPER PROCESSING: Please be sure to list the Central Labor Council, if any, with which your parent’s or legal guardian’s local union is affiliated. Make sure the application is signed by a union officer and at least one parent or legal guardian. Include an official school transcript and if applicable, proof of legal guardianship. If you are unsure that your local union is affiliated with your local Central Labor Council, please contact one of your local union officers. PLEASE MAIL APPLICATIONS TO: TEXAS AFL-CIO EDUCATION DEPARTMENT - P. O. BOX 12727, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78711. Incomplete applications will be returned to the student.

A packet of material on organized labor will be sent to each applicant to prepare for a test about unions. If you do not receive your packet, please contact your central labor council, a local union officer, or the 韦德1946.

SELECTION PROCESS: Each Central Labor Council will arrange all interviews and tests for applicants no later than April 8, 2022. Please contact your Central Labor Council if you have not received notice of an interview by April 1, 2020. YOU MUST BE TESTED AND INTERVIEWED IN THE CENTRAL LABOR COUNCIL DISTRICT IN WHICH YOUR LOCAL UNION IS AFFILIATED.

After interviews and tests are conducted, each local Central Labor Council will select semi-finalists from among their applicants. Applicant’s financial need, academic achievements, extra-curricular activities, and his/her understanding of the labor movement as demonstrated by the test scores and interviews will be considered.

The statewide Scholarship Committee of the 韦德1946 will select winners from among the semi-finalists. The results will be mailed to all applicants. High Schools principals will receive notice of winning applicants whose name will be announced in the 韦德1946 Labor News.

If you are awarded a scholarship, please contact the 韦德1946 Education Department in writing or via email to [email protected] and give us the name and address of the university, college or technical institute you plan to attend. The scholarship will be paid directly to the school of your choice upon acceptance.

For further information, contact your local union officer, Central Labor Council or Edward Sills, 韦德1946 Education Department, at (512) 477-6195 or [email protected].

Donors to 韦德1946 Scholarship Fund

(Sept. 1, 2020-Aug. 31, 2021)

Leonard & Dalila Aguilar
American Income Life
Alice Badsgard
Rebecca Badsgard
Judy Bryant
Carol & Keith Bryce
Clara Caldwell
Kevin Clift
Kyle Clift
Bill & Mary Fears
Patrick M. Flynn, P.C.
Andy & Robbie Frye
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 66
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 220
Travis & Linda Jackson
Kalyn Free, P.C.
Rick Levy
Vilma Luna
Laila Mandour
Becky Moeller
Eric H. Nelson Law Office
Paul Parsons, P.C.
John Patrick
Plumbers Local 68
Plumbers & Pipefitters Local 286
Provost Umphrey Law Firm
Richard Rock
Douglas Selwyn
Shell Oil Foundation Matching Gifts
Ed Sills
Calvin & Charlene Speight
Dennis & Emily Speight
Texas Building & Construction Trades Council
Texarkana Central Trades & Labor Council
Texas Alliance for Retired Americans
Texas State Association of Letter Carriers
Pat Tucker
Sue Vaughn
Kristie Veit
Rosa Walker
Linda K. White

Memorials & Honorees


Cheryl Anderson
John Bland
Jim Boynton
Mickey Breaux
Linda Bridges
Sharon Cole
Lorraine Cunningham
Nelson Edgerly
Henry Goines
Maria Jimenez
N.R. “Curley” Johnston
Bobbye Jo Martinez
Ramon Ovalle
John Patrick
Bobby Phillips
Jacob Richardson
Shirley Rubinett
Emmett Sheppard
Kenny Speight
Glynne Stanley
Ernie Sweat
Richard Trumka


Ana Pomar
Rose Levy’s wedding